CYDI winner and runner-up entries: my entitled opinion

Hey everyone! This might have been old news, but now that the winner and top ten runner-ups of Poptropica’s CYDI (Create Your Own Dream Island) contest have been revealed, each with their own post on the Creators’ Blog as well as here on the PWSP, I’d like to give my own personal (and entitled) review on each of the winner and runner-up entries.

 

In my opinion, there were some great island ideas, and some not-so great ones. Some I felt were too common or even plagiarized (*cough*, *cough* Bikers vs Boards) but overall, I thought the ideas were pretty awesomesause! So without further ado, here’s my list of the winning island ideas in order of (again, in my opinion) best to worst:

  1. Symphony Island
  2. Shakespeare Island
  3. House Of Cards Island
  4. Space Bar Island
  5. Stormchaser Island
  6. Pharaoh’s Fantasies Island
  7. Prehistoric Island
  8. Fashion Crisis Island
  9. Arabian Nights Island (WINNER)
  10. Golden Mustache Island
  11. Bikers vs Boards Island

There’s my list, everyone! Now, I’m going to explain it in greater detail why I put them in that order, starting from the bottom…

#11: Bikers vs Boards Island: Seriously? Why was THIS runner-up #1? Just why? This was SO plagiarized from TBM, and I bet that if you read the summary of Teen Beach Movie and the pitch for Bikers vs Boards, they would sound VERY similar. The main reason the Creators liked the island is because it was in a ’60s setting! I’m pretty sure the submitter was too lazy to even think of a creative island. This was my least favorite island idea by FAR and I was actually mad the creators even considered this as a runner-up. SP and I contacted the Creators after we found out about this. I mean, this is an OUTRAGE!

#10: Golden Mustache Island:  I really don’t have anything against this island – I just thought the idea, plot, and name were very corny. I honestly think that this is too childish and silly for Poptropica standards.  I’m not really that kind of person who follows the popular trends.

#9: Arabian Nights Island (WINNER): Now, tell me if I’m wrong, but was this the only island out of the thousands of entries that stuck out? This one… to tell the truth, I wanted to put this one 10th. This soon-to-be island sounds very lame; from the very little detail the Creators gave us about the island.

#8: Fashion Crisis Island: The idea here isn’t that bad!  But not being a girly-girl and being a music/gamer/sports person , I’m just not really into fashion.

#7: Prehistoric Island:  When the Creators said “dinosaurs are coming into the 21st century. Poptropicans must reassemble the time portal and send them back” – I was pretty much bored out of my mind, but as I continued reading on, it sounded like any other entry about dinosaurs and their existence. As many people probably send in a prehistoric/dinosaur idea,  it doesn’t really stand out to me as a unique dinosaur story.  I still wouldn’t like this even if Jurassic Park didn’t make dinosaurs so scary. Plus, it would be “too much” for the young ones as there’s too much graphics.

#6: Pharoah’s Fantasies Island: There’s no plot whatsoever.I would’ve liked it if they made the plot more understandable and clearer.

#5: Stormchaser Island: I like it, but I think this would be too much for the creators (and a lot of work!). On the positive, we might have our first non-human poptropican villain!

#4: Space Bar Island:  Wouldn’t it be cool to go inside a computer and have a talk with the person who’s controlling the internet? and even better, It’ll all be poptropican style 😎 . 

#3: House of Cards Island:  Loved it!  Let the cards be in your favor! The plot that the Creators showed us blew my mind so much that I had a dream about it. It was just the icing on the cake for this island idea. Does this remind you of a TV show?

#2: Shakespeare Island: It gets down to the tough ones – The plot was that “Players help Shakespeare put on a Romeo and Juliet play. Players sign up to be an actor, backstage organizer, or costume designer. But during the show, another actor gets stage fright and players will have to dress up and sing the song.” When I read that, I immediately thought if was GOLD. If you didn’t know before, I’m into writing so I would have loved to play this island.  I think this one was definitely one of the better ones.

#1: Symphony Island:  Since I’m a HUGE music person, this will be pretty enjoyable. I know a lot of music terms AND I play the clarinet. Enjoy listening to pure music. I love music, so this is probably why I love the island. I loved the plot. Now, that sounds like a fun island idea! There’s more: “…be able to play many different instruments — including piano, saxophone, and drums — and gave us a funny villain in ‘Karl Notune’.” That’s a lot of the instruments I love! This island idea rocked! Great job, Erika!

That’s it everyone! I want to hear your voice and see your personal rankings!

– BC

P.S: Sorry I’m not posting often; I’m just working with my blog and two others. Sorry 😦 , but I’m still working here, and I will NEVER quit this blog. Just letting you know out there. :3

One thought on “CYDI winner and runner-up entries: my entitled opinion

  1. I really like Arabian Nights Island, but then again, it is my culture, so…

Tell Us What You Think

